The other AAA family

List of AAA researchers

Researcher e-mailAAA research on:
Zach Adam zach at agri.huji.ac.il Chloroplast FtsH homologues
Yoshinori Akiyama yakiyama at virus.kyoto-u.ac.jp Proteolytic and chaperone activity of FtsH
Salima Akrim Salima at jesus.u-strasbg.fr Cdc48p in plants
Heike Arlt arlt at bio.med.uni-muenchen.de Mitochondrial AAA proteases
Markus Babst mbabst at ucsd.edu Vacuolar sorting (VPS4)
James Bangs bangs at macc.wisc.edu Trypanosomal AAA members
Secretion and Protein trafficking in trypanosomes
Shoshana Bar-Nun ShoshBN at tauex.tau.ac.il CDC48p/p97 in ERAD
Wolfgang Baumeister   Non-FtsH eubacterial AAA member in M. leprae
Helmut Bergler bergler at bkfug.kfunigraz.ac.at Diazoborine resistance (AFG2/DRG1)
Philippe Bouloc bouloc at infobiogen.fr HflB/FtsH proteolytic activity
Franz Bruckert bruckert at dsvgre.cea.fr Endosome fusion in Dictyostelium (NSF)
Bernd Bukau bukau at sun0.urz.uni-heidelberg.de Proteolytic activity of FtsH
Stan Burgess s.a.burgess at leeds.ac.uk Dynein
Fabrice Confalonieri confalonieri at igmors.u-psud.fr Archebacterial AAA members
Simon Cutting s.cutting at rhbnc.ac.uk FtsH/SpoVM interaction in B. subtilis
David Dougan d.dougan at latrobe.edu.au Bacterial AAA proteins and their adaptors
Wolfgang Dubiel wolfgang.dubiel at rz.hu-berlin.de 26 proteasome subunits
Michel Duguet duguet at igmors.u-psud.fr Archebacterial AAA members
Scott D. Emr semr at ucsd.edu Vacuolar sorting (VPS4)
Ralf Erdmann ralferdm at zedat.fu-berlin.de Peroxisome biogenesis (Pex1p, Pex6p)
Horst Feldmann feldmann at dec1.bio.med.uni-muenchen.de Yeast AAA members (YTA)
David Finley finleydj at warren.med.harvard.edu 26 proteasome subunits
Paul Freemont p.freemont at imperial.ac.uk Structures and mechanism of p97 and associated factors
Kai-Uwe Fr?hlich kai-uwe.froehlich at uni-graz.at Homotypic fusion (Cdc48p, VCP)
Cell cycle functions
Apoptosis
Evolution of the AAA family
Zhongming Ge   FtsH in Helicobacter
Michael Glickman glickman at techunix.technion.ac.il 26S proteasome ATPases
Wolfgang Hilt Hilt at po.uni-stuttgart.de Mechanism and function of the 26S proteasome
Gregor H?genauer gregor.hoegenauer at kfunigraz.ac.at Diazoborine resistance (AFG2/DRG1)
Guy Houlné GH at jesus.u-strasbg.fr FtsH homologues in chloroplasts
Cdc48p in plants
Thorsten Hoppe thorsten.hoppe at zmnh.uni-hamburg.de Role of CDC-48 in C. elegans (see Mouysset et al., 2006)
Walid A. Houri walid.houry at utoronto.ca Bacterial AAA proteins
Koreaki Ito kito at virus.kyoto-u.ac.jp Proteolytic and chaperone activity of FtsH
Stephen Albert Johnston Johnston at ryburn.swmed.edu 26S proteasome subunits
Lisbeth de Jong Jong at bio.uva.nl Mitochondrial FtsH homologues
Kiyonobu Karata inu at gpo.kumamoto-u.ac.jp Proteolytic activity of FtsH
Analysis of SRH ("second region of homology" defining AAA proteins)
Don J. Katcoff katcoff at mail.biu.ac.il Function of SAP1 (Sin1 Associated Protein)
Akio Kihara akihara at virus1.virus.kyoto-u.ac.jp Proteolytic and chaperone activity of FtsH
Karl K?hrer koehrer at uni-duesseldorf.de Vacuolar sorting (VPS4)
Iro Kontodimou kontodimou at nefeli.imbb.forth.gr Plant 26S proteasome subunits
Douglas Kominsky kominsky at uwyo.edu Maintainance of mitochondrial integrity
Mitochondrial AAA protease Yme1p
G. Anil Kumar mam at cge.iisc.ernet.in FtsH in Mycobacteria
Wolf Kunau wolf-h.kunau at rz.ruhr-uni-bochum.de Peroxisome biogenesis (Pex1p, Pex6p)
Thomas Langer langer at bio.med.uni-muenchen.de Mitochondrial AAA proteases
Martin Latterich mlatterich at illumina.com Homotypic fusion (Cdc48p, p97)
Klaus Leonhard leonhard at bio.med.uni-muenchen.de Mitochondrial AAA proteases
Krzysztof Liberek liberek at biotech.univ.gda.pl Proteolytic activity of FtsH
Andrei Lupas andrei.lupas at tuebingen.mpg.de
Andrei_N_Lupas at sbphrd.com
AAA structure
Non-FtsH eubacterial AAA member in M. leprae
Bacterial genomes
Frank Madeo Frank.Madeo at uni-tuebingen.de Homotypic fusion (Cdc48p, VCP)
Cell cycle functions
Apoptosis
Vivek Malhotra malhotra at jeeves.ucsd.edu Biogenesis of Golgi stacks (role of NSF, p97)
Nicholas H. Mann nm at dna.bio.warwick.ac.uk Cyanobacterial FtsH homologues and photosystem assembly
George N. de Martino gdemar at mednet.swmed.edu 26S proteasome regulation
Hiroshi Matsuzawa ahmatsu at hongo.ecc.u-tokyo.ac.jp Proteolytic activity and localization of FtsH
Michael Maurizi mmaurizi at helix.nih.gov Biochemistry and structure of the Clp and Lon ATP-dependent chaperone/protease machines
John Mayer john.mayer at nottingham.ac.uk Reprogramming of the 26S proteasome in development
Nils von Neuhoff neuhoff.nils.von at mh-hannover.de AAA research on VCP/p97 and cancer
Walter Neupert neupert at bio.med.uni-muenchen.de Mitochondrial AAA proteases
Teru Ogura ogura at gpo.kumamoto-u.ac.jp Proteolytic activity of FtsH
Role of FtsH in the heat shock response
Analysis of SRH ("second region of homology" defining AAA proteins)
FtsH/SpoVM interaction in B. subtilis
Amos Oppenheim ao at cc.huji.ac.il Proteolytic activity of FtsH
Sheetal Patel patel at salk.edu Homotypic fusion (Cdc48p, p97)
Ashok Pullikuth ashok at citrus.ucr.edu Manduca sexta NSF
Intra-Golgi transport processes
Steven Russell russell at ryburn.swmed.edu 26S proteasome subunits
Wolfgang Schumann WSchumann at uni-bayreuth.de Roles of FtsH in Bacillus subtilis
Yoram Shotland shotland at cc.huji.ac.il Proteolytic activity of FtsH
Thomas S?llner tsollner at ski.mskcc.org Mechanism of vesicular fusion
Alasdair Steven Alasdair_Steven at nih.gov Structure of Clp chaperones and their proteolytic complexes
Gregor Steglich steglich at bio.med.uni-muenchen.de Mitochondrial AAA proteases
Carolyn Suzuki suzuki at ubaclu.unibas.ch Mitochondrial AAA proteases
Jonathan C. Swaffield jon_swaffield at ncsu.edu Evolution of the CAD family
Taka-aki Tamura btamura at nature.s.chiba-u.ac.jp Role of SUG1 in mRNA processing
Takashi Tatsuta t-tatuta at gpo.kumamoto-u.ac.jp Role of FtsH in the heat shock response
Peter Thorsness thorsnes at uwyo.edu Maintainance of mitochondrial integrity
Mitochondrial AAA protease Yme1p
Toshifumi Tomoyasu   Proteolytic activity of FtsH
Andor Udvardy H8383UDV at ELLA.HU Structure of the 26S proteasome of Drosophila (chemical cross-linking)
Ida van der Klei Ijvdklei at biol.rug.nl Peroxisomal AAA members (Pex1p, Pex6p) in Hansenula
Marten Veenhuis   Peroxisomal AAA members (Pex1p, Pex6p) in Hansenula
Graham Warren ? g.warren at icrf.lif.icnet.uk Golgi stack resassembly (p97, NSF)
Marianne Weidenhaupt weidenhaup at dsvgre.cea.fr Endosome fusion in Dictyostelium (NSF)
Sidney W. Whiteheart sidneyW363 at aol.com Role of NSF in vesicular docking and fusion
William Wickner william.t.wickner at dartmouth.edu Role of NSF in vacuolar vesicle fusion
Dieter Wolf Dieter.Wolf at po.uni-stuttgart.de Mechanism and function of the 26S proteasome
Stefan Wolf wolf at vms.biochem.mpg.de Non-FtsH eubacterial AAA member in M. leprae
Xiaodong Zhang xiaodong.zhang at imperial.ac.uk Structural biology of p97 and cofactors, Transcription activation via AAA proteins
Peter Zwickl zwickl at biochem.mpg.de Archebacterial AAA members

If you want to be added to this list, please mail me the relevant information.
If you want to be deleted from this list (e.g., to prevent the unavoidable spam e-mails caused by any mentioning of an e-mail address in the Internet), tell me.
If you find errors or omissions on this page, give me the chance and information to correct them.
Please remember to mail me modifications (if you change/expand your research subject or get another e-mail address). Let´s try to keep this list up to date!
To make it a little bit more complicated for would-be spammers, I "inactivated" the e-mail addresses by replacing the @ by at. It should not be too difficult for you (or for the spammers, I´m afraid) to reconstruct the correct addresses.
Most of the e-mail addresses have been taken from the program booklet of the "EMBO Workshop on Cellular Functions of AAA Proteins". The attempt to send a message to some of these addresses failed ("unknown user" or "unknown server"). I have marked the corresponding addresses by a "?". Please mail me if you know the correct addresses of these scientists.
[To the AAA family description] [To our home page]

Last edited: August 20, 2008 by KaiFr